WARWICKSHIRE SCHOOLS FORUM

Voting and actions of the meeting held on 1st October 2020

Microsoft Teams meeting 14:00 – 17:00

SCHOOL FORUM MEMBERS

Alison Davies The Avon Valley School (Maintained)

Angela Fox Welcombe Hills School (Special Schools representative)

Anthony Dix Paddox Primary School (Maintained Governor)

Clive Sentence Alcester Grammar School (Academy)

Faye Padfield Abbots Farm Infant School (Maintained Governor)

Fergus Durrant Campion School (Academy Governor)
Joss Andrews Abbots Farm Junior School (Maintained)

Kevin Griffiths Coten End Primary School (Maintained Governor)

Larry Granelly Wellesbourne and Tysoe Federation (Maintained Governor)

Martin Davies Telford Junior School (Maintained Governor)

Mary Anne Burrows PVI Representative

Matthew Bown St. Paul's Church of England Primary School (Maintained)

Michael Morran Rugby High School (Academy Governor)

Nicci Burton Atherstone and Bedworth Heath Nursery Schools (Maintained)

Nick Evans Evergreen School (Special Schools Representative)
Philip Johnson Whitestone Infant School (Maintained Governor)

Rose Gunn Arden Forest Infant School (Maintained)

Sarah Bromley PVI Representative

Sybil Hanson Coventry Church of England Diocese Representative

OFFICERS/OBSERVERS

Councillor Colin Hayfield Portfolio Holder – Education & Learning

Andrew Felton Assistant Director - Finance

Ian Budd Assistant Director - Education Services

Purnima Sherwood Service Manager for Finance

Neill Butler School Funding & Strategy Manager (Clerk to Forum)

Duane Chappell Strategy & Commissioning Manager (SEND and Inclusion)

Brian Smith Finance Portfolio Lead - Technical Specialist, Education, Children &

Families

1. APOLOGIES

Neill Butler:

- introduced himself and welcomed the new School Forum members
- provided the Teams Meeting etiquette
- asked everyone to introduce themselves when they speak

Apologies were received from the following members:

Rebecca Harrison Park Hill Thorns Federation (Maintained)

Jane Burrows Myton School (Academy)

Amy Woodward North Leamington School (Academy)
Seán Taylor Representative from a Teacher's Union

The following members did not attend and did not give their apologies:

Adam Hardy Catholic Church Archdiocese

Those people who need to leave early:

Allison Davies, Michael Morran, Ian Budd and Clive Sentence

MATTERS FOR DECISION:

2. Introduction of Forum Members and Elections of Chair and Vice Chair (Neill Butler)

Neill Butler:

- asked for a volunteer to be Chair, who must be a Schools Forum member not an officer no responses received
- asked for a volunteer to be Chair for this meeting only. Phil Johnson agreed to Chair this
 meeting and introduced himself. He was asked to introduce items and name the person
 presenting.

3. Minutes of the last meeting

Neill Butler asked for any corrections to the minutes. One had already been received from Martin Davis. No further amendments

4. Update on Matters Arising (Neill Butler)

Neill Butler noted that this is a standing item at Schools Forum to pick up any outstanding items from previous meetings.

b) Admissions

The responsible officer has been asked to bring this back to the December meeting. This is around how academies were charged for admissions, and whether there's the possibility of a rebate to the academies that had bought into that service because it transpired that they were paying a slightly higher rate than are maintained schools.

This action has been delayed and will now be brought back to schools forum in January 2021.

Matter for decision

5. Schools Forum Terms of Reference (Neill Butler)

There were no objections to the proposals so confirmed as approved.

6. Scheme for the Financing of Schools (Neill Butler)

No objections to the proposals so confirmed as approved.

7. 2020/2021 DSG Budget Monitoring (Purnima Sherwood)

Brian Smith deputising for Purnima Sherwood to present the report. Brian introduced himself.

No objections to the proposal so confirmed as approved.

8. 2021/22 De-delegation Consultation Timetable (Neill Butler)

Maintained schools agreed the timetable for the de-delegation consultation.

Change in Agenda item

As Ian Budd needs to leave the meeting at 16:00, the agenda has been changed to allow the Assistant Directot for Education Services to provide his update.

15. Assistant Director Education Services Update (Ian Budd)

There were no actions from this agenda item

9. 2021/22 National Funding Formula Update and Timetable (Neill Butler)

There were no actions from this agenda item.

10. DSG – A guide to the Blocks (Neill Butler)

There were no actions from this agenda item.

11. Overview of High Needs (Duane Chappell)

There were no actions from this agenda item.

12. Overview of Early Years (Neill Butler)

There were no actions from this agenda item.

13. SEND and Inclusion Change Programme (Duane Chappell)

There were no actions form this agenda item.

14. Assistant Director Education Services Update (Ian Budd)

This agenda item was moved to before Agenda Item 9.

15. Forward Plan (Chair)

Action - The DSG Recovery Plan monitoring is now on the Forward Plan and that's following advice from the ESFA on how schools forum are kept up to date on how the plan is being delivered.

Phil Johnson concluded business.

Neill Butler reminded Schools Forum of next meeting date of Thursday, $3^{\rm rd}$ December at 14.00 on Teams

Phil Johnson thanked everyone for attending and contributions.

Neill Butler thanked Phil Johnson for chairing.

If you would like to listen to the full meeting please click here